Information Worth Mentioning


CHFR Chiefs Attend FPELRA

Deputy Chief’s Falcone and Bradshaw, attended the first module of training with the FL Public Employer Labor Relations Association (FPELRA). This begins a year long training regiment to become a Florida Certified Labor Relations Professional (FCLRP).


Phoenix Award Recipients

Congratulations to Firefighters Jason Moore and Josh Clemen. They were recognized with a Phoenix Award for responding with Manatee County EMS to a cardiac arrest. The patient was resuscitated, with the successful outcome of being able to return home from the hospital.

CHFR Firefighters receiving the Phoenix Award from Manatee County EMS for saving a cardiac arrest patient.

CHFR Chiefs Attend Legislative Session

Fire Chief Hoyle, accompanied with Deputy Chief’s Falcone and Bradshaw, attended the FL 2020 Legislative Session in Tallahassee. This session was sponsored by the FL Association of Special Districts (FASD).


Chief Hoyle, Deputy Chief Falcone, and Deputy Chief Bradshaw photographed in front of the firefighter memorial statue at the capital in Tallahassee, FL.


CHFR ISO Rating Classification

Congratulations is in order for the entire organization for improving its ISO rating from a Class 3 to a Class 2 in the 2019 audit. This is a measure of the fire protection service Cedar Hammock provides to the community. The scale is 1 through 10 with 1 being the best. There are less than 5% of departments in the nation rated with a Class 2 or better. Cedar Hammock has achieved this through a twenty percent increase in staffing, and the addition of a ladder truck to the fleet over the last four years. The public may see a reduction in insurance rates as a result.


CHFR recognized several employees at the January 16, 2020 Board of Fire Commissioner’s meeting.


The following awards were presented:

Exceptional Duty – Fire Marshal Eric Center & Battalion chief Ryan French

Firefighter of the Year – FF Clint Brekhus

Officer of the Year – Captain Brian Bartman

Staff Employee of the Year – Battalion Chief Doug Brett


The following were recognized for their dedicated years of service:


    • Battalion Chief Billy Whitfield – 30 years of service
    • Captain Billy Smith – 15 years of service
    • Lieutenant Ben Anderson – 15 years of service
    • Lieutenant Chad Eibner – – 15 years of service
    • FF Mike Dunn – 15 years of service
    • FF Wade Hudson – 5 years of service
    • FF Eric Adams – 1 year of service
    • FF Taylor Clegg – 1 year of service
    • FF Drew Dirmeyer – 1 year of service
    • FF Garrett Garside – 1 year of service
    • FF Alan Glass – 1 year of service
    • FF Zack Hill – 1 year of service
    • FF Greg Howell – 1 year of service
    • FF Garrett LeClair – 1 year of service
    • FF Vincent Scaffedi – 1 year of service
    • FF Devin Melcher – 1 year of service



Social Media Information – Coming Soon