Minutes of the Regular Meeting of the Board of Fire Commissioners Cedar Hammock Fire Control District October 20, 2022

CALL TO ORDER

The regular meeting was called to order by Vice Chairman Findlay at 6:00 p.m. The following commissioners were present: Richard G. Findlay, Marnie E. Matarese, Samuel A. Reasoner, and John H. Stevens. Ronald D. Getman was absent with good reason.

INVOCATION AND PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Pastor Pavkovich led the invocation, which was followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

QUORUM

Vice Chairman Findlay confirmed a physically present quorum for the meeting. The meeting was properly advertised.

CONSENT AGENDA

Vice Chairman Findlay asked if there was any discussion of the minutes or the Treasurer's report. There was no discussion.

ACTION: Commissioner Reasoner moved to accept the Consent Agenda. Commissioner Stevens seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously (4-0).

SPECIAL BUSINESS

Deputy Chief Bradshaw announced the hiring of Office Administrator II, Pamela Wingo. Administration Support Manager McCaughan administered the Employee Oath.

Chief Hoyle introduced Trailer Estates Chaplain, Sylvia Harbison, service since 4/5/1999, Board Members Linda Briggle, Seat 1, service since 11/1/2019; Karen Murphy, Seat 2, service since 12/17/2020; Nancy McMall, Seat 3, service since 11/1/2018; Lori Dalton, Seat 4, service since 5/1/2018; and Mary Chandler, Seat 5, service since 5/1/2018; and current Fire Chief Peter LeBerth. All were provided a plaque.

Deputy Chief Falcone presented a Unit Citation to Battalion Chief Ryan French; Lieutenants Chad Eibner, and Austin Roehl; Firefighters Eddie Anderson, Joshua Clemen, Michael Dunn, Randall Fowler, Hunter Henson, Zachary Hill, Zachary Kertz, Devin Melcher, Jason Moore, Sean Morrissey, Marco Nepomuceno, Trace Parcels, and Brittany Rash. The citation was awarded for "your teamwork and aggressive actions taken in the extinguishment and search and rescue of a victim trapped in a fourth-floor apartment on the morning of June 9, 2022."

Deputy Chief Falcone presented Notable Outstanding Work Awards to: Firefighters Taylor Clegg, Garrett Garside, Greg Howell, and Paul Reda, "in appreciation for your voluntary travel and representation of Cedar Hammock Fire Rescue to honor the tragic loss of Apopka Firefighter Austin Duran, who passed away in the line of duty."

Deputy Chief Falcone presented Notable Outstanding Work Awards to: Lieutenants Ben Anderson, and Wade Hudson; and Firefighters Clint Brekhus, Tim Pillsbury, Kody Sallis, and Ethan Viera "in appreciation for your assistance in upgrading the Station Three Training Facility Irrigation System."

Deputy Chief Falcone presented Notable Outstanding Work Awards to: Lieutenants A. J. Dudley, Wade Hudson, and Bobby Wadsworth; and Firefighters Drew Dirmeyer, Jesse Herrera, Jon Kropp, and Ethan Viera "in appreciation for your assistance removing the wooden hose drying tower from Station Two."

Vice Chairman Findlay recessed the meeting for a 5- minute break.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

There were no public comments.

OLD BUSINESS

Referendum Update

Deputy Chief Bradshaw said that he wanted to make the Board of Fire Commissioners aware of the status of the upcoming referendum. Florida statutes obligates the District to run ads five and three weeks prior to the election. The exhibit shows the affidavits from these ads. A press release will be issued next week.

NEW BUSINESS

Employment Contract

Secretary/Treasurer Reasoner was charged by the Board of Fire Commissioners to work with Deputy Chief Bradshaw on an employment contract for the position of Fire Chief. Labor Counsel and District Counsel have both reviewed, revised, and finalized. He said is confident the contract is fair to both parties.

ACTION: Commissioner Stevens moved to approve the Fire Chief Employment Agreement between Cedar Hammock Fire Control District and Kyle R. Bradshaw as presented. The agreement is effective as of 12:01 am, October 21, 2022. Commissioner Matarese seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously (4-0).

ACTION: Commissioner Matarese moved to place Chief Jeffery Hoyle on Administrative Leave as of midnight tonight, and to receive accrued benefits in lieu of salary until May 19, 2023. Commissioner Stevens seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously (4-0).

Appreciation Dinner

Deputy Chief Bradshaw announced the Appreciation Dinner would be held December 17, 2022, at the Seafood Shack, beginning 6:00 pm. There is a \$30 charge for guests.

CHIEF'S REPORT

Chief Hoyle reviewed the departmental reports.

COMMISSIONER'S COMMENTS

Chief Hoyle thanked all the commissioners and staff for their support.

Commissioner Matarese said that she was honored to be a commissioner, she felt we are an incredible family.

Commissioner Stevens wished Chief Hoyle a happy retirement

Vice Chairman Findlay said he was excited about serving another 4-year term. He is looking forward to working with Chief Bradshaw. He commended Chief Hoyle for the ease of transition.

Commissioner Reasoner was also honored to be a commissioner. He is excited about the future of the District. He commended staff on its integrity.

NEXT MEETING DATE

The next meeting date is November 17, 2022

ADJOURNMENT

ACTION: Commissioner Reasoner moved to adjourn the meeting at 6:41pm.

Commissioner Matarese seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously (4-0).

Respectfully Submitted,

APPROVED 11/17/2022

Vice Chairman Richard G. Findlay